Skip to content

A Psalm for Christchurch

February 24, 2011

I realise I am in no position to bear vicarious witness for people 360 kms away. However, here in Dunedin we feel somewhat powerlessly caught up in it all. And those responsible for worship, like myself, find ourselves listening to all of this and trying to process it in some way. I hope you will not read this little psalm, with no great claim to originality, as a futile or foolish attempt at theodicy. It is simply a confession inspired by reading the gospel for sunday in which our worries are met with the words ‘seek ye first the kingdom of God’

 

A Psalm for Christchurch

 

Stronger than the mountains

Deeper than the deepest faultline

Is your abiding love

 

Though the mountains depart

Though familiar landmarks crumble

Though exhaustion and fear encompass me

Still your kingdom comes

 

In rubble and dust, in pain and death

In blood and tears

As anxiety feeds anxiety

Still your kingdom comes

 

As the past is lost and discovered

As neighbours are lost and found

As God is lost, or missing

Still your kingdom comes.

 

Into your hands I commend my Spirit

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:52 am

    I’m seeing the devastation on TV news reports. I’m reading of the heartache in our newspapers. I am praying “continually”. Continue being a tower of weakness Bruce.

    • February 24, 2011 8:42 am

      Thanks Pam, nice phrase. Maybe it’s as hard to be weak as it is to be humble 😉

  2. Peter permalink
    February 26, 2011 2:08 am

    Hope its OK to use this in my liturgy tomorrow. Thinking of Christchurch from Brisbane.

  3. February 27, 2011 3:32 am

    @Peter Sorry to be slow to get back to you. Yes its fine to use in liturgy, it is my hope that it will be useful.

Leave a Reply

