Skip to content

Agnolatry – a place to start

August 17, 2009

Once upon a time, before the internet was born, I was accused of idolatry by a well-known public atheist in our small country. Being a young neo-barthian student at the time, who tended not to say boo to a goose, this gave me considerable cause for reflection.

Much has changed since then. I have found a niche for my theological explorations in the ruins of Christendom, in the Presbyterian part of those ruins, as a servant of Word and Sacrament (yes, minister) – saying boo to sheep in both rural and urban contexts of Aotearoa New Zealand.

This blog arises out of the conviction that agnolatry is the only alternative to idolatry (although, like many I am tempted to try to shelter in irony instead, but irony is false shelter). I don’t know if agnolatry is a real word. However, ‘worship of the lamb’ is not intended as a pious cliché, but something more like a prolegomenon to Christian theology. I present it as the only alternative on the assumption that worship is the inevitable ontological premise of speech (boo to a goose) and life. To paraphrase Augustine, ‘we are reconstructed by whom we adore’. And this particular form of speech (blogging) arises for me out of a growing sense of being addressed by God-our-victim (aka God-my-victim). That may sound like “the pulpit speaking” (as Revd. Ames would say) and maybe it is, but from now on I’ll stop apologizing (promise!).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 9:10 pm

    Welcome to blogdom Bruce. I liked your first honk, and look forward to more.

  2. August 18, 2009 10:08 am

    thanks mate, your hospitality extends in every direction

  3. Mary Somerville permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:54 am

    Congrats Bruce!!! Great first blog! I am ready for the future of the DB Blog sitting with my dictionary open to look up the “real” words!!

    Seriously though….enjoyed it all 🙂

    Mary

  4. Karen O'Brien permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:33 pm

    So, you finally succumed to to pressure and joined the bogging word! Knew you would sooner or later!

Leave a Reply

